LWML IOWA EAST DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS

August 13, 2022 Zion Lutheran Church, Hiawatha, IA

OPENING WORSHIP: Pastor Roepke

CALL TO ORDER: President Martha Hartwig at 9:45 a.m.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING: 2022 Convention Minutes posted on LWML-IED website for review - Jo Ann Johnson moved to approve. Seconded and approved. They will also be reviewed at the 2024 Convention.

BOD minutes from the 6/9/22 pre-convention meeting will be sent to BOD via email from Hilary Brech.

TREASURER: See submitted report. Updates will be posted online. For BOD members turning in mileage, please submit a map with mileage noted to Becky Gluesing by January 2023.

FINANCIAL SECRETARY: See submitted report. New address labels and remittance booklets available.

VP OF CHRISTIAN LIFE: See submitted report.

VP OF COMMUNICATION: See submitted report. Voice of Care workshop Sept. 9 10, 2022 at Camp IoDisECa and link to register at LWML IED website.

Historian/Archivist: See report.

ALIVE Editor: Trying new format. Comments welcome.

Webmaster: Posting content online as available.

VP OF GOSPEL OUTREACH: See submitted report. New mission grants are on the LWML IED website.

VP OF HUMAN CARE: See submitted report. St. Ansgar Zone to choose Gifts from the Heart ingathering for Nov. 2022 BOD meeting.

VP OF ORGANIZATIONAL RESOURCES: See submitted report.

YWR: Hilary Brech - see report.

PASTORAL COUNSELORS: Both present - no report.

ZONE PRESIDENTS: See submitted reports. Please submit fall gathering information if you have not already done so.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT: See submitted report.

STANDING COMMITTEES: Speaker's Bureau: submit new names and forms to Linda Allan,

LWR - see submitted report. Forms for fall pickup available at LWML IED website.

Meeting Manager: present

APPOINTMENTS:

District Registrar: Margaret Kistler - approved

Member Development: Karen Boehme and Misty Lutz - approved

Christian Life: Jan Brown - approved

Parliamentarian: Judy Westergren - approved Convention Manager: Cheryl Killham - approved

Speaker's Bureau: Linda Allan - approved

Convention 2024 Co-chairs: Carol Meyer and Nancy Maurer - approved

G-Suite Manager - Hannah Raebel -approved

Still need: Meeting Manager, Short Term Mission Coordinator, Heart to Heart Coordinator

UNFINISHED BUSINESS:

2022 convention: Co-chairs still finalizing reports. President Hartwig presented the recommendation of the EC that an honorarium of \$600 be sent to Cari Chittick, the 2022

Convention Keynote Speaker - this will be for travel expenses and her time and efforts in preparation and presentation. Approved.

NEW BUSINESS:

Bus to 2023 National Convention - Karen Boehme working on - Zone Presidents, please have a sign up for the bus at the fall gatherings.

Convention Banner: Start thinking about some possibilities. It can reflect the theme for 2023, "Lord of the Nations," or we can re-use a past convention banner.

Assembly of Leaders (AOL): President Hartwig presented the recommendation of the EC that IED send the following members to the AOL to be held Oct. 19-22, 2022 in St. Louis: Martha Hartwig, Pastor Jon Ellingsworth, Jeanette Kreutner, Jennifer Determan, and Hannah Raebel. Motion approved.

Scholarship Update: President Hartwig presented the recommendation of the EC that for the 2022-2023 school year the scholarship fund should be divided as follows: \$1000 for the 3 undergrad students divided into 2 payments, and \$2400 each for the 5 graduate candidates paid in one payment. Discussion followed. Jennifer Determan moved to amend the EC recommendation - the deaconess student previously included with the graduate students should be put with the undergrads as she is in a bachelor's program, making the payments to the now 4 undergrads at \$1350/year, divided into 2 payments, and \$2400 for the remaining 4 grad students. Amendment seconded and approved. President Hartwig then presented the amended motion to the BOD and it was approved. It was noted that the deaconess student currently attends an AALC church which is in full pulpit and altar fellowship with the LCMS, and she will be rostered as an LCMS church worker when she graduates, and is attending an LCMS college.

New Church Worker Committee: Give names to Liz Roberts - currently there are 3 new pastors and 1 vicar in the district.

President Hartwig reported she received a letter that Trinity, Hampton has voted to disband their LWML society due to lack of membership.

Meeting adjourned at 2:35 p.m.

Sheryl Zinda
Recording Secretary