LWML IOWA EAST DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING February 13,2021 via Zoom

OPENING DEVOTIONS: Pastor Roepke opened with devotions.

CALL TO ORDER: President Margaret Kistler called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS: President Kistler welcomed all. Each attendee introduced

themselves.

MINUTES REVIEW: Margaret appointed Sheryl Zinda and Helen Huedepohl to review the meeting

minutes.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING: Minutes of previous meeting were approved with spelling

corrections.

TREASURER: See submitted report

FINANCIAL SECRETARY: See submitted report

V.P. OF CHIRSTIAN LIFE: See submitted report

V.P. OF COMMUNICATION: See submitted report

Historian/Archivist: See submitted report

ALIVE Newsletter Editor: See submitted report

Webmaster: See submitted report

GSuite Administrator: Not present. Contact Hannah Raebel at admin@lwml-ied.org if needing

to set up GSuite and learn how to use it.

V.P. OF GOSPEL OUTREACH: See submitted report

V.P. OF HUMAN CARE: See submitted report

V.P. OF ORGANIZATIONAL RESOURCES: Has been reviewing the procedure manual

Member Development: See submitted report

PASTORAL COUNSELORS: Nothing to report

ZONE PRESIDENTS: See submitted reports as well as the following

BENTON ZONE: Spring rally 5/22 from 9am-1pm at Belle Plaine with David Fiala speaker

CEDAR RAPIDS ZONE: Unsure of spring rally at this time

CLINTON ZONE: Working on zone by-laws. Spring rally will be 4/10 at Grace, DeWitt

DAVENPORT ZONE: Spring rally 4/17 at Immanuel, Davenport. Carolyn and Elizabeth will

present training.

DUBUQUE ZONE: No spring rally. A mission grant will be supported financially.

ELDORA ZONE: No spring rally

MARSHALLTOWN ZONE: Unsure of a rally at this time

MT PLEASANT ZONE: Spring rally 5/22 at a park in Burlington

ST ANSGAR ZONE: Spring rally 4/17? At St. Peter, Elma

WATERLOO ZONE: Prayer service 3/13 9am at St John, Reinbeck. Spring rally 4/17 at Peace,

Shell Rock

WESTGATE ZONE: Spring rally 4/17 at St. Paul, Sumner with Rev. Ellingworth speaking on his trip

to Israel.

WILLIAMSBURG ZONE: Spring rally 4/24 starting at 9am St. John, Marengo with Andrew Gray

speaking

PRESIDENT REPORT: Margaret gave her report

CHRISTIAN LIFE SKIT: Becky and Jan did a devotion called "Day by Day Growing in the Lord"

STANDING COMMITTEES AND APPOINTED PERSONNEL:

SPEAKER'S BUREAU: Nothing new to report

 $\textbf{LUTHERAN WORLD RELEIF:} \ \text{There will be a pickup at Trinity School, Cedar Rapids on 4/17 8 am-leading} \\$

noon. No fleece blankets or bulk soap.

MEETING MANAGER: See submitted report. Reminder to send BOD reports to the secretary,

not the meeting manager.

IED CONVENTION MANAGER: Please review the convention guide that was sent. Presented recommendations to the board from the convention committee. Recommendations were approved.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS:

IED PROCEDURE MANUAL: Carolyn proposed some corrections to the manual that have been submitted to her in February. Procedure manual was approved with the latest revisions that were presented.

NATIONAL CONVENTION: Linda Allan presented some banner ideas, and a design was approved.

BUS TO 2021 NATIONAL CONVENTION: There is room for 6-7 more people on the bus. A travel agenda was given.

FALL RETREAT: Clinton Zone is planning on a one-day retreat on Saturday with fellowship available on Friday night for those who can come early. There will be no meal provided on Friday night.

NEW BUSINESS:

LWML MISSION STATEMENT: President Kistler presented the new mission statement.

YWR APPLICATIONS: Two YWR applications have been received by the committee. The committee recommends approval for Emily Woodall and Hilary Brech to be YWRs to the 2021 national convention. Recommendation was approved.

ASSISTANT ALIVE EDITOR: An assistant will be needed by November 2021. Hilary shared the duties of the editor/assistant editor.

APPOINTMENTS: President Kistler presented the following appointments

IED Nomination Committee Chair: Judy Westergren

New Church Workers Welcoming Committee: Vickie Gardemann and Darlene Bodermann

Structure Committee: Pam Haase

Student Aid Committee: Sheryl Zinda

Endowment Committee: Sherly Zinda and Judith Fink

Becky Gluesing made a motion to approve the appointments. Motion was seconded and approved.

CLOSING DEVOTION: Pastor Roepke led the closing devotion on a review of Bible verses that summarize what we teach concerning abortion .

MEETING ADJOURNED: at 12:30 pm

NEXT MEETING: May 14 & 15 at Camp Io-Dis-E-Ca. Watch for details.

IED Board of Directors Meeting Attendance – February 13, 2021

Executive Board:

Margaret Kistler	Р
Carolyn Zimmerman	Р
Becky Wehrspann	Р
Elizabeth Gehle	Α
Angie Banko	Р
Helen Huedepohl	Р
Lora Duncan	Р
Becky Gluesing	Р
Marna Mohr	Р
Pastor Tom Ogilvie	Р
Pastor Chris Roepke	Р
	Carolyn Zimmerman Becky Wehrspann Elizabeth Gehle Angie Banko Helen Huedepohl Lora Duncan Becky Gluesing Marna Mohr Pastor Tom Ogilvie

Zone Presidents:

Benton Zone	Vickie Gardemann (Loretta Vogt present)

Α

Cedar Rapids Zone	Cheryl Killham	Р
Clinton Zone	Sheryl Zinda	Р
Davenport Zone	Tammy McKay	Р
Dubuque Zone	Jeanette Kreutner	Р

Eldora Zone	Linda Allan	Р
Marshalltown Zone	Pam Haase	Р
Mt Pleasant Zone	DeEtta Rasmussen	P
St Ansgar Zone	Darlene Boderman	P
Waterloo Zone	Judith Fink	Р
Westgate Zone	Vacant	Р
Williamsburg Zone	Elizabeth Roberts	Р
Appointed Officers/Committees		
Archivist/Historian	Diane Paulson	Р
Newsletter Editor	Hilary Brech	Р
Assistant Newsletter Editor	Vacant	
Meeting Manager	Hilary Brech	
Public Relations Director	Vacant	
District Registrar	Marcia Reints	Р
Webmaster	Jeanette Kreutner	
World Relief Coordinator	Dori Stanek	А
Speakers Bureau	Liz Roberts	
Parliamentarian	Judy Westergren	Р
IDE Short Term Mission Coordinator	Vacant	
Heart to Heart Coordinator	Vacant	
Convention Manager	Cheryl Killham	
Convention Bus Coordinator	Karen Boehme	Р
Young Women Rep 2019-21	Lauren Gangel	А
Young Women Rep 2019-21	-	
2021 Retreat Co-Chair	Sheryl Zinda	
2021 Retreat Co-Chair	Joy Schmid	А
2021 Convention Co-Chair	Laura Woebbeking	Р
2021 Convention Co-Chair	Jan Miller	Р
New Church Workers Welcoming Committee	Elizabeth Robert	
New Church Workers Welcoming Committee	Vickie Gardemann	
New Church Workers Welcoming Committee	Darlene Bodermann	
Christian Life Committee Chair	Jan Brown	
Christian Life Committee	Kay Berry	Р
Christian Life Committee	Vacant	
Christian Life Committee	Pastor Roepke	
Member Development Chair	Karen Boehme	
Member Development Committee	Laruen Gangel	
Member Development Committee	Martha Hartwig	
Member Development Committee	Pastor Ogilvie	
Human Care Committee Chair	Angie Banko	
Human Care Committee	Pam Haase	
Human Care Committee	Tammy McKay	
Human Care Committee	Pastor Roepke	
Structure Committee	Carolyn Zimmerman	
Structure Committee	Pam Haase	
Structure Committee	Helen Huedepohl	
Structure Committee	Pastor Roepke	

Structure Committee Pastor Ogilvie Mission Grants Committee Chair Elizabeth Gehle Mission Grants Committee Tammy McKay Mission Grants Committee Jeanette Kreutner Mission Grants Committee Pastor Ogilvie **Endowment Fund Committee Chair** Elizabeth Gehle **Endowment Fund Committee** Cheryl Killham **Endowment Fund Committee Becky Gluesing Endowment Fund Committee** Sheryl Zinda

Endowment Fund Committee

Endowment Fund Committee

Endowment Fund Committee

Vacant

Pastor Roepke

Student Aid Committee Chair

Student Aid Committee

Cheryl Killham

Student Aid Committee Sheryl Zinda
Student Aid Committee Pastor Roepke